MEET AMERICA: CALIFORNIA

christitle

Considering that I started my MEET AMERICA Campaign because I couldn’t find states on a map, I’d like to make it clear that I very well knew where California was!

When I think of Cali, I think of bright sunsets and colorful boardwalks, so it was only natural to pick an artist to be my state representative.  Christopher has been in SoCal his whole life; being born in Upland and growing up in Ontario, where he currently resides.  His artwork is just that of California, a swirling world of colors.  Just mix that with a bit of Disney magic and a comic book obsession and there you have it!  Let’s meet Christopher…

Image
A:: Christopher, how would you describe living in CA to people who haven’t been there?
Image
C:: California is an interesting place; it is truly unique in that your life can be as fast or slow as you’d like it to be.  I’m moments away from a major city, or a rural valley.  There is always something to do.

Image

“[California] is truly unique in that your life can be as fast or slow as you’d like it to be.”

A:: Tell us about your career and how you got started.

C::  From a very young age I’ve always been interested in the arts.  Fortunately, my life has been filled with folks that have enabled me to pursue this into adulthood.  Presently, I make my living as a painter: landscapes, portraits, that sort of thing.

A::  And a very talented painter at that!  Describe your perfect day.

C:: Reading a comic book, spending time with my lovely girlfriend, Polly, maybe grilling up some steaks.  I love the simple things.

A:: Where in CA do you recommend visitors to go to? i.e. landmarks, places to eat, etc…

ImageC:: I think The Original Disneyland Park is something to see, there’s some mystique about it the other theme parks just don’t have.  Hollywood is quite the sight as well.  Catch a movie at Grauman’s Chinese or the Arclight.  Hit Surf City USA Huntington.

A:: What’s your favorite thing about California?

C:: That there is never a dull moment here in Sunny California!

ImageA:: It must be asked!  What is your favorite movie? 

C:: I don’t think I have just one, ha!  More like a list of five that are always rotating in and out.  I do love directors though; Wes Anderson, Tarantino… That Django was great!   That list of five: Lost in Translation, Gladiator, The Darjeeling Limited, The Pianist, Pan’s Labyrinth.

 A:: It is a rare find to see that I agree with everything you’ve listed.  Our friendship is now validated.  Where can my readers find your work?

C:: My Facebook: click here, and my Instagram: christopherbaird.

Image

I want to thank Christopher for sharing his art and passion with me.  I am enamored by his work!  Although Jack Skellington is my first love, my favorite painting by him is this Grandmother Willow piece seen to the left.  If you also love Christopher’s work, you can have a piece of your own!   Contact him for a personalized piece at more than reasonable prices.

Next week I bring you, Juan, from Colorado!  And don’t forget to check out our previous Americans:

Yasmin: Alabama
Robert: Alaska
Reynell: Arizona
Stephanie: Arkansas
Comments are closed.

