Women I Would’ve Loved to Be; the 1000+ views post special

Holy crapola! Alessandra Speaks broke the 1,000 view mark last night! Currently standing at 1,009 views, my blog rises from it’s amateur-sleep feeling grand and official. So, instead of enjoying this thunderstorm-filled day by being lazy and watching old movies, I’ve decided that a celebration post was due.  What better way to celebrate the best blog ever than by celebrating some AWESOME women?! I’ve been waiting to do this topic!

A few weeks back I made a list of “Women I would’ve loved to be” …

and then I stared at it.

Okay, so it wasn’t much of a blog then, but now I’m ready to elaborate! You know that when I have an opportunity to make a list, I do it.

WOMEN I WOULD’VE LOVED TO BE:

  1. Mulan. I know what you’re thinking–a dark-haired Italian girl wanting to be Chinese!? Ethnicity has nothing to do with it, although the Dragon guardian angel played by Eddie Murphy is a pretty sweet bonus. Italians don’t get to have dragons! All joking aside, Mulan was pretty bad-ass. Even disguised as a dude in the war, she was smokin’ hot. Plus she saves China and ends up getting the guy. I love reverse gender roles.
  2. Ingrid Bergman. Not only was Ingrid GORGEOUS, but she totally got to make out with Humphrey Bogart in Casablanca. That’s enough for me to put her on this list.
  3. Beverly D’Angelo. A totally under-recognized actress if you ask me. There’s two main reasons she makes the list: one being, she was Chevy Chase’s wife in all of the National Lampoon’s! (Christmas Vacation being the best) and two being, she dated Al Pacino and gave birth to his children! Sooooo jealous! Oh, and she’s hot and Italian. Duh.
  4. Tina Fey. This woman is living my dream. She’s a writer, was on the SNL cast, wrote and starred in a successful movie (Mean Girls), and now writes/stars in her own show, 30 ROCK. In my everyday life I refer to Tina Fey as the ‘thinner-nerdier-lighter me’.
  5. Bella Swan. Note that I didn’t say Kristen Stewart–strictly Bella Swan. Bella Swan gets away with being utterly BORING, yet still gets to pick from the 2 hottest and most exotic men in her surrounding life. Both of which would die for her. And for the record, If I was, in fact, Bella Swan, I would completely and fully go for Jacob, not the pale Englishman.
  6. Meryl Streep. The woman can do no wrong! She is timeless! She is flawless! Everything she touches turns to gold….bright, shiny, golden awards! Not only is she an outstanding actress, but she gets more beautiful and tasteful with every passing year. Plus she totally does Alec Baldwin in It’s Complicated. Okay, so I have a little crush on Mr. Blue Eyes.
  7. Christina Applegate. This gorgeous freckled blonde has been a favorite ever since the days of Love and Marriage. Her comedic timing is perfection, her bright face is mesmerizing, she dated Ron Burgundy, and she beat breast cancer! Super woman.
  8. Sophia Loren. Born Sofia Villani Scicolone, yet another Italian makes the list. Sophia is classic beauty. She is an icon. And to this day, at age 76, she is breathtaking!
  9. Cleopatra VII. She was regarded as a great beauty who knew how to use her wit and charm to get what she wanted. The very type of woman who men feared and knelt down before. Of course I’m going to ignore the fact that her and her family were completely incestuous and that she committed suicide. Nevertheless, she was striking and powerful…and had a big nose like me.
  10. Pocahontas. Poca has been my favorite for as long as I can remember. I was completely obsessed with Native American culture since Kindergarten, which kind of made me look like a weirdo. And then God sent me Pocahontas, so now I was just a little girl who liked a Disney Movie. She was beautiful, she was tan, and she was one of a kind; bridging gaps between races. And her grandmother is a talking Willow tree! Uh, I want one!

And so concludes my top 10 women. I’m sure 95% of you readers agree with the list, whether you are male or female. Even dudes would want to be Ingrid Bergman!

Again, thank you everyone for your loyal viewership! I’ve been waiting to break the 1,000 view mark for a while. I hope my celebration post brought some smiles to your faces because that’s the main goal of my rambling anyhow.

For more female-related posts, try: Musings for Women, and White Women and Punctuation .

Don’t stop reading, or else you’ll go blind. It’s true… It’s in the Bible…

Love,

The woman who you’d love to be,

Alessandra

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marfmellow
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 14:34:03

    I cosign on all of the above. I’m so happy you blog.

  2. lindseyhudson24
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 14:47:44

    I’d just like to state that I wrote a blog at the same time as you, and Pocahontas is also on my list. Get out of my head. PS – love this list in general. Team Jacob all the way.

  3. alessandraspeaks
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 15:03:06

    I love comments! yay! Love you both.

  4. athenapearl
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 08:19:47

    Hey, nice list! Also, Mulan was a real person–check it out if you haven’t already 🙂 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hua_Mulan

  5. thoughtsappear
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 04:48:35

    I’m with you on Pocahontas, Meryl Streep, and Bella. I’m also a fan of Jacob. =)

  6. Laura Grima
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 17:29:55

    So many great women! How about the really ordinary day to day women who are amazing. My mother, for instance, who was a quite woman (most of the time). She survived war-torn Italy with 3 small children at the time while my father was in the military (She raised 8 children total) . She befriended American Soldiers and did their laundry in return for protection. Some time after the war she stayed behind in Italy while my father went ahead with the 3 oldest children to the United States to prepare a home. She followed by herself with the remaining 5 children on a long Voyage to the United States on a ship called “The Agusta”. I could go on and on. She died at the ripe old age of 95 and is truly truly an inspiration and model of faith, courage, strength, fortitude and endurance – A truly ordinary day to day “Amazing Woman”!

  7. Aaron
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 01:32:12

    they are very outstanding,I saw their movies. very very good!

  8. Average Girl
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 10:41:37

    I must agree with Mulan and Tina Fey — also would have loved to be Laura Ingalls WITH indoor plumbing, and Hermione from Harry Potter (or anyone with magical powers). Great post!

  9. Styrofoam Baby
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 11:49:38

    I am glad that there is Mulan because I am Asian. LOL. It’s a very great list. I had no idea about Christina Applegate. She is absolutely stunning.

